Altered Images: ‘Shiver Me Timbers!’

'Shiver me timbers!'

I took this photo at a local harbourside festival. It’s actually a crop of the original, which was of the whole boat, taken from a distance. When I zoomed in to look at the tiny pirate more closely I realised that he seemed to be looking directly at the camera. Though he couldn’t have been, as I was just another person in a crowd of many. Spooky! To let him have his moment, I had a little fun with photoshop to create this image.

“The phrase ‘Shiver my Timbers’ is based on real nautical slang and is a reference to the timbers, which are the wooden support frames of a sailing ship. In heavy seas, ships would be lifted up and pounded down so hard as to “shiver” the timbers, startling the sailors.” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shiver_my_timbers

All images Copyright SR Parker

Leave a Reply

